Southern Governors Back Collection Of Value Added Tax By States

Southern Governors Back Collection Of Value Added Tax By States

Governors of Southern States of the country, on Thursday, threw their weight behind the collection of the Value Added Tax (VAT) by state governments.

The Governors made their positions known on Thursday during their meeting in Enugu.

Governor Rotimi Akeredolu, who is the Chairman of the Southern Governors Forum, while reading the resolution reached at the meeting, tasked the Governors that were yet to enact the anti-open grazing law to do so without much delay.

Akeredolu, in the seven-point communiqué, said the Governors were satisfied with the rate at which the states were enacting and amending the anti-open grazing laws, in line with the uniform template and aspiration of the Forum.

The communiqué read in part: “The Southern Governors Forum expressed satisfaction with the rate at which the states in southern Nigeria are enacting or amending the anti-open grazing laws, which align with the uniform template and aspiration of Southern Governors and encouraged the states that are yet to enact this law to do so expeditiously.

“We also encourage the full operationalisation of already agreed regional security outfits, which would meet, share intelligence and collaborate to ensure the security and safety of the region.

“The Forum reaffirms its earlier commitment to fiscal federalism as resolved at the inaugural meeting of the Forum held on Tuesday, May 11, 2021, at Asaba, Delta State and emphasised the need for the Southern States to leverage the legislative competence of their respective State Houses of Assembly, as well as representation in the National Assembly to pursue its inclusion in the Nigerian Constitution through the ongoing constitutional amendment.

“The meeting resolved to support the position that the collection of VAT falls within the powers of the states. It also expresses satisfaction with the handling of issues around the Petroleum Industry Act and ownership of Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation by the larger Nigerian Governors’ Forum.”

The governors also restated their earlier position that the next Nigerian President must come from the southern part of Nigeria, in line with the politics of equity, justice and fairness.

Present at the meeting were Governors Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi of Enugu State; Babajide Sanwo-Olu of Lagos State; Rotimi Akeredolu of Ondo State; Nyesom Wike of Rivers State; Adegboyega Oyetola of Osun State; Ifeanyi Okowa of Delta State; and Douye Diri of Bayelsa state.

Others were the Governors of Ogun state, Dapo Abiodun, and Akwa Ibom, Emmanuel Udom.

The Deputy Governors that represented their Governors are Otunba Bisi Egbeyemi of Ekiti State, Rauf Olaniyan of Oyo state, Prof Evara Esu of Cross River, Ude Okochukwu of Abia State, Kelechi Igwe of Ebonyi State, Philip Shuaibu of Edo state and Placid Njoku of Imo state.

Previous articleFinally! Former Aviation Minister, Femi Fani-Kayode Joins APC, Meets Buhari
Next articleEFCC Confirms Bawa Is Back To His Desk After Initial Health Scare


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here